Nerdish Musings

Aldy’s Nerd Blog 2: Age of Adulthood

Mae Govannen, mellyn nin!

As you may have noticed, I haven’t been posting a lot lately. I’ve encountered a number of life changes over the past two months. Without going into details, I’m having to become an adult rather fast. New apartment, new job, the whole shebang. And acting like an adult is shockingly time-consuming. I hope to start posting regularly again now, but my posts will look a little different.

The Fandom of the Month format has been a lot of fun for a long time, but I think it’s time to retire it. My reasons are twofold: First, some months are busier for me than others. As a result, some “fandoms of the month” get more attention than others, which doesn’t seem quite fair. For example, I posted a lot about Star Wars in May, but the poor superheroes only got about three posts in June. It’s not that I like Star Wars any better than superhero movies, it’s just that I was away from my home laptop, state, and/or country for most of that month and didn’t have time to write.

Second, and I really hate to admit this….I’m running out of fandoms. I like a lot of nerdy things, but after two and a half years of trying to highlight a different fandom every month, I am nearing the bottom of the barrel. If I keep going at this rate, I’ll end up posting about – *shudder* – anime!

I also enjoy lots of things that don’t fit neatly into a fandom, as you may have noticed. I like writing movie and book reviews,, and it’s hard to find a place for those on this blog. Or at least it has been, until now. From now on, I’m going to take a somewhat looser approach to blogging. Instead of sticking with one fandom for a whole month, I’ll blog about whatever nerdy thing I’m most currently interested in – whether it’s a 100-year-old book of poetry, a 50-year-old TV show, or the latest Marvel blockbuster. I’ll also do a few posts about nerd culture itself, since that’s something that’s always interested me. And in August and September, I will be taking a fangirl’s tour of the UK, so expect to see some reports about all the awesomeness I encounter.

Anyway, I hope nobody is too disappointed by the change! Don’t worry, there will still be lots of silly lists and long rants about why X movie/book/show/album cover is the BEST THING EVER and why X thing about it bugs me regardless. I’m just mixing things up a bit.

As always, stay tuned!

Standard

One thought on “Aldy’s Nerd Blog 2: Age of Adulthood

Leave a Reply

