May 2015 Fandom

A Question to the Expanded Universe

Like I’ve said before, I have yet to read any of the Star Wars novels–except a few of the young adult ones a loooong time ago. This is not because I have anything against them, but simply because there are ten bazillion of them, and I’m sure they’re not all good, and I don’t want to waste my time wading through trash to find a decent book. So I’ve got a question for my more knowledgeable readers:

Which Star Wars books should I read? Which are the most exciting, best written, and closest to the spirit of the movies?

Whoever answers first gets a prize! Just kidding, I don’t have anything to give away. But you will get my gratitude and affection, and I’ll be sure to mention you when I later review the book. 🙂 So, suggestions?

Namarie,
Aldy

Standard

3 thoughts on “A Question to the Expanded Universe

  1. Ohhh they are definitely not all good. My recommendations would depend on what you prefer.
    If you want basically the Legends version of Ep VII, VIII, IX, try the Heir to the Empire trilogy by Zahn.
    If you want fighter pilots instead of Jedi, try the X-wing series by Stackpole and Allston (those are my favorites). Also the follow-up novel I, Jedi.
    If you want Han Solo, try the Han Solo Trilogy by Crispin or Scoundrels by Zahn.
    If you want Sith, I hear Darth Plagueis and the Darth Bane books are good (haven’t read them though).

Leave a Reply

