monthly fandom

Fandom of the Month: Supernatural

Well, hello there, March. You startled me.

As hard as it is to believe, we are starting a new month already, and that means it’s time to jump back into the world of (relatively) mainstream fandoms. In March I will be posting about my latest obsession: Supernatural.

How shall I describe this series? If you’ve spent any time on Tumblr or the geekier side of Pinterest, you’ve heard of it, but your impression probably isn’t very accurate. Short description: Supernatural is a ten-year-old American fantasy/horror show about two brothers, Sam and Dean Winchester, who drive around in a cool car hunting down demons, ghosts, and everything else that goes bump in the night.

Starring, from left: Sam and his hair, Dean and his glare.

 

But that description doesn’t quite do it justice. If you’re a Whovian, picture something like an American Doctor Who without all the space travel (there’s plenty of time travel, just nothing in outer space). But of course, since this is ‘MURICA, Supernatural doesn’t have ANY of that “no guns” nonsense. And the vehicle of choice is a black ’67 Chevy Impala instead of a blue police box. And all the main cast members look like underwear models. But both shows have the same weirdness level, the same tendency to kill main characters over and over again, and the same love for long overcoats.

Even angels look better in long coats.

 

It took me a long time to start watching this show, mainly because the premise sounded utterly ridiculous and at least 80 percent of the fandom seemed to be made of young, single girls who liked gay fanfic. Sometimes I like to pretend I’m a sophisticated adult, so that kind of thing puts me off. But then I started to see more and more stuff about it on the Internet, some of my closest friends got into it, and, well…you know how peer pressure is.

Once I started watching it last summer, I realized my early impressions were correct. Supernatural is ridiculous, and it does cater to the fangirls quite a bit. And yet, it is also awesome. I fell in love with the characters almost immediately, and once I got past the whole killing-a-ghost-who’s-already-dead thing, the story sucked me in just as effortlessly. Once again, I must admit that my tastes are neither sophisticated nor adult. But who cares?

I love Supernatural for its great characters, dark humor, and refusal to take itself seriously. I also enjoy the occasional scares and perpetual tear-jerkers (oh, did I forget to mention this is a very depressing series? In spite of the ridiculousness…yeah, it is.) Also, the soundtrack is beautiful. Never has classic rock been put to better use.

This month, expect to see lots of lists: best characters, best episodes, best songs, etc. Also expect to see some fun jokes, quotes, trivia, and/or analysis. Stay tuned!

Namarie,
Aldy

Standard

One thought on “Fandom of the Month: Supernatural

  1. Pingback: Poetry Month | Aldy's Nerd Blog

Leave a Reply

