Uncategorized

Mae Govannen!

Hello, I’m Aldy. Welcome to my blog!
First, I’d better explain myself. Most of the time, I am a more or less responsible adult. I have an associate of arts degree with a creative writing emphasis, and I’m about to get my bachelor’s in journalism. I have published poetry in several online journals, I earn my own living, and I have long-term goals for my life (which include publishing a novel and getting a master’s degree at Oxford). I even keep my room clean.
But there’s a part of me that is, shall we say, a little less mature. This is the part that still reads children’s books with glee and gets ridiculously excited about things like dragons and imaginary languages. I am a sucker for a good story, especially when it takes me to a more exciting, fantastical world. So I’m a huge fan of what the academics call “speculative fiction” – that is, the kind of book, movie or TV show that involves magic and aliens. As much as I love my journalism studies, I can have just as in-depth a conversation with someone about time travel as about the war in Syria.
But the problem is, I don’t know many people who get as excited about imaginary worlds as I do. So I decided to start this blog as a way to vent all my nerdy thoughts without annoying those around me–and also as a place to go whenever I need a break from being An Adult. For you, dear reader, it will hopefully be a way to get in touch with your own nerdy side, and maybe find some new fandoms to obsess about.
Each month I’ll dedicate most of my posts to a particular book series, author, movie, TV show or subgenre that I like. This won’t include EVERY fandom out there–for example, you won’t find any anime on this blog (I’m sorry, I just can’t get used to those creepy eyes.) I also tend to avoid American TV as much as possible (with a few notable exceptions), so no Supernatural or Teen Wolf or whatever people on my side of the Atlantic are watching now. However, I am definitely open to suggestions in the comment section.
All that to say – thanks for finding my blog, and please stay tuned for more nerdy fun!
Namarie!

Standard

Leave a Reply

